Holy See

Holy See

Posted: Jul 25, 2021 | Updated: Apr 16, 2023

Vatican City state is the smallest country in the world (about 62 football pitches), but it is also one of the most significant. As the seat of the Catholic Church it is home to some of the most famous and important religious sites in the world.

The Holy See is not a country but a sovereign entity exercising "full ownership, exclusive dominion, and sovereign authority and jurisdiction" over the Vatican, and is headed by the Pope as the Bishop of Rome.

If you are interested in history, art, or religion, then a trip to the Holy See is a must. You can spend hours exploring the Vatican Museums, admiring the Sistine Chapel, and contemplating the great movements in world affairs due to the power held up in this small place.

But be warned, the Holy See as located in Vatican City State is a very popular tourist destination and unless it's specifically religion you are interested in, be careful you don't visit during a holy festival.

History of the Holy See

Preceding Vatican City State, the Diocese (a district under the jurisdiction of a Bishop) of Rome was established in the 1st century in what was then the capital of the Roman Empire, at a time when to be a Christian was very dangerous. However, the first Christian Roman emperor Constantine the Great through the proclamation of the Edict of Milan in 313 made Christianity acceptable in the Roman Empire. The Edict of Thessalonica in 380 by Emperor Theodosius I made Christianity the state religion of the Roman Empire.

Even after the fall of Rome papal primacy continued, with influence growing to control what are referred to as the Papal States (756–1870) which were territories in central Italy that were directly governed by the papacy up to 1870, with an interruption due to French occupation from 1798 to 1799.

Despite the Capture of Rome in 1870 by the Kingdom of Italy marking the final defeat of the Papal States under the Pope and the unification of the Italian Peninsula (except San Marino) under the Kingdom of Italy (which made the pope a "prisoner in the Vatican" from 1870 to 1929), its international legal status was "constituted by the ongoing reciprocity of diplomatic relationships" that not only were maintained but multiplied.

The Lateran Treaty on 11 February 1929 between the Holy See and Italy recognised Vatican City as an independent city-state.

History of Vatican City State

The Holy See dates back to early Christianity but the independent state of Vatican City only came into existence on the signing of the Lateran Treaty, considering it to be a new creation unrelated to the much larger Papal States.

The 'Vatican' as an area can be traced back to the Roman Republic of antiquity and was a marshy area outside the walls of Rome. At first an undesirable area, it was drained in 33 AD and gardens and villas were constructed there along with a circus for charioteers. The circus was eventually completed by the mad Emperor Nero. The Vatican Obelisk in St. Peter's Square is a remnant from the Circus of Nero, though is not positioned in it's original location.

Popes had spiritual as well as a secular role as governors of regions near Rome, these being called the Papal States, until they were seized by the newly created Kingdom of Italy.



The Highlights

  1. St. Peter's Square​ is a large plaza facing the Basilica, in the centre of which is an ancient Egyptian obelisk once part of the Circus of Nero and moved a short distance to where it stands today.
  2. St. Peter's Basilica​ is one of the holiest sites of Christianity and Catholicism, it is traditionally the burial site of St. Peter, who was the head of the twelve Apostles of Jesus.
  3. Vatican museums exhibiting centuries of art including as far back as the Roman period.
  4. Sistine Chapel and the famed frescos painted by Michelangelo.
  5. Castel Sant'Angelo was originally The Mausoleum of Hadrian, converted to a military fort in 401 AD, and converted into a castle linked to the Basilica by the popes in the 14 century.

Travel Holy See

Holy See

Holy See

Holy See

Other Destinations in Europe

After you've experienced my delights or horrors of Holy See, see what the destinations below may have in store for you.

Belgium | Bulgaria | Czech Republic | Denmark | France | Germany | Greece | Holy See | Iceland | Italy | Netherlands | Norway | Poland | Portugal | San Marino | Serbia | Spain | Sweden | United Kingdom |



Say hi!

What can I call you?
Enter your email address (this will never be shared)
It would be nice to tell us why you are contacting us!
To prevent spam mail, enter the sum of the spam captcha

Hi! I’ve been travelling since the 90's and have visited 48 countries - not many really when the world has over 240 countries and states.

I'm lucky in that I live abroad, so for me, even with COVID devastating the world, the travel experience hasn't really gone away. Anyway, I can't wait to share more of my experiences, drop me a message and I'll get back to you ASAP.